The Ohio Information Security Conference 2016

The Ohio Information Security Conference is a technical conference targeted to business owners, managers, and security professionals who have a vested interest in protecting their company’s information and communication systems.  The conference is hosted each year by Technology First at Sinclair Community College and will offer four breakout tracks and three keynote presentations.  

The Breakfast Keynote speaker this year will be presented by David Kennedy, Founder and CEO of TrustedSec and Binary Defense Systems.  His talk titled, Compromise Analysis – Why We’re Seeing So Many Breaches. His talk will cover: analysis of the most recent data breaches as well as historical data, how a number of the breaches have occurred, common patterns within most data breaches, how to build defensive capabilities to prevent these, and understanding of both offensive and defensive capabilities. 

The luncheon keynote will be Richard Staynings, a Principal in Cybersecurity for Cisco. His presentation titled, Emerging Cybersecurity Threats and Challenges states that 2016 looks to be another watershed year for cybercrime. Adversaries continue to rapidly refine their attack capabilities, while business and government struggle to keep up.  Outnumbered by five to one, what can security professionals do to stem the advancing tide?

As the final wrap-up keynote, Leo Cronin, CSO for Cincinnati Bell will cover, NIST 800-53: A practical approach to benchmarking.  His abstract states, NIST 800-53 and the NIST Cyber Security Framework have all the bits and pieces we need to benchmark our security program maturity.  Leo will discuss a practical way to use this standard and measure progress over the lifecycle of your security program. 

This year is the 13th annual Ohio Information Security conference.  Again, it has been organized by local information security professionals to focus on emerging trends and share on industry insights.  They are certain this event will provide a networking environment to meet and learn from professionals around the state who share similar challenges and requirements.   We would like to recognize those committee members contributing to the success of the conference.

Steve Walker Premier Health
Deral Heiland Rapid7
Leo Cronin Cincinnati Bell
Dave Salisbury University of Dayton
Lisa Heckler, CISSP CareSource
Michael Natale Wright State University

Hope to see you there!

Current Magazine February 2021 February 2021
© Technology First 2021. All rights reserved.